Titanic 100th Anniversary Cruise

It was one of the world’s greatest maritime disasters; the sinking of the Titanic is chilly waters of the North Atlantic which occurred on April 15, 1912.

On her maiden voyage from Southampton to New York, RMS Titanic hit an iceberg on the evening of April 14, 1912.  Thought to be unsinkable, Titanic carried too few lifeboats.  Following a strict “women and children first” policy, most of the lifeboats were barely half full, and of those who survived, the biggest proportion were first class passengers.

The wreck of the Titanic was finally discovered on 1 September, 1985 laying 3,800 metres underwater on the sea floor.

To commemorate the sinking of the Titanic there are at least two cruises sailing to the location of the Titanic’s final resting place.  One of those cruises, which is organised by the British company Miles Morgan Travel will leave Southampton on the ship MS Balmoral, and follow the Titanic’s route as closely as possible, until it reaches its ultimate destination.

Another cruise, arranged through Azamara Club Cruises for its ship the Azamara Journey, departs from Boston, Massachusetts and will take three days to reach the Titanic’s location in time for the commemoration.

Both cruises will feature on-board lectures and information conducted by various experts on the Titanic.  The Azamara Journey will also have the services of a Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV) equipped with camera on the sea floor so that passengers can view the Titanic as she rests.

There will be memorial services on both vessels, after which both vessels will journey to Halifax, Nova Scotia, where the Titanic survivors were taken and were many of the un-named victims are buried.

These cruises will give anyone who is interested in the history of the Titanic the only opportunity to commemorate the loss of both the passengers and the ship on the centennial anniversary of that terrible disaster.

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>